IUVSTA

NEWS FLASH



Number: 35 April 2022

Union Internationale Pour La Science, La Technique et Les Applications du Vide International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications Internationale Union für Vakuum Forschung, Technik und Anwendung

The IUVSTA Awards and Scholarship Committee announces the winners for the 2022 IUVSTA Prizes



Professor Christian Mitterer

The IUVSTA Prize for Science is awarded every three years to recognize and encourage outstanding internationally-acclaimed research in the fields of interest to the IUVSTA.

The IUVSTA Prize for Science (2022) is awarded to Professor Christian Mitterer

Chair of Functional Materials and Materials Systems Department of Materials Science Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria

for his seminal contributions to the materials science of protective coatings and thin films for flexible electronics and hydrogen storage.



Professor Ian Gilmore

The IUVSTA Prize for Technology is awarded every three years to recognize and encourage outstanding internationally-acclaimed achievements in technology and instrumentation in the fields of interest to the IUVSTA

The IUVSTA Prize for Technology (2022) is awarded to Professor Ian Gilmore

NPL Head of Science National Physical Laboratory United Kingdom

for pioneering advances in vacuum instrumentation enabling innovative multidisciplinary research and development.

The Prizes consist of a cash award, a struck medal and a certificate.

The winners will present honorary plenary lectures at IVC22; https://ivc22.org